• image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image

About Us

About us

Vision: The vision of IACTED is to lead the nation in providing the highest quality career and technical education programs for Indiana students.


Mission: IACTED is a professional organization of Indiana Area CTE Districts which promotes, facilitates, and supports the continued improvement of Career and Technical Education in the state of Indiana.



  1. We believe in CTE Education as the best way to prepare all students at all ability levels for life after high school.
  2. We believe in working with state and federal governments (including DOE and DWD) to assure that their policies and procedures support and fully fund CTE.
  3. We believe in academic integration, aligning core academic and CTE standards, providing dual credit opportunities, and providing certifications in all CTE programs to ultimately create state supported programs of study.
  4. We believe in equipping our students with the knowledge, skills, and desire to promote career choices, lifelong wellness, and prosperity.
  5. We believe in non-traditional participation and completion in CTE programs.
  6. We believe in providing opportunities for students to achieve a Core 40 with Academic Honors and/or a Technical Honors diploma.
  7. We believe in accountability for our programs and the continued gathering and evaluation of usable data to guide decision-making for CTE programs.
  8. We believe in communicating with all stakeholders through advisory boards and forged business and community partnerships to prepare CTE students with the skills needed for future careers.
  9. We believe in relevant professional development for CTE teachers, counselors, and directors.
  10. We believe in exclusively using and promoting the usage of the term career and technical education rather than the term vocational education. 

IACTED currently has 47 member districts representing over 95% of Indiana’s public school corporations.  Monthly Board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of the month in Indianapolis.  Nine Program of Work committees address the key issues for the over 178,000 students-242,000 CTE enrollments of high school students enrolled in career and technical education programs.  See CTE Districts map for the programs located in your area. 


Active Committees

Auditing Committee

Chairperson:  Ronna Kawsky

Ron Hoke




Awards Committee

Chairperson:  Alan Taylor

Rusty Hensley

Craig Newby


 James Little

 Mark Hobbs

David StClair

CTE Image Committee

Chairperson: Nicole Otte

Chris Lamb

Audra Peterson

Doug Dillion



Mike Ripperger

Dale Sharpe


Legislative Committee

Chairperson: Patrick Biggerstaff

Lora Busch

Gene Hack


Steve Rogers

Mari Swayne



2017 Summer Conference

Chairperson: Kelly Durr

Steve Dungan

Dan Schoon

Miranda Hutcheson


Christi McBride



Professional Development

Chairperson:  Glen Weil

Jarred Howard

Brandon Small


 Kevin Knies




Nominating Committee

Chairperson:  Audra Peterson

Rusty Hensley

Albert Hanselman


 James Little




 Data Issues

Chairpersons:  Chris Deaton, Kevin Keller

Matt Fleck

Michelle Meadows

Shawn Wright-Browner


Jim Walmsley

Christi McBride

Pam Rager